Sashka Dimova

Staff portrait: Sashka Dimova

Sashka Dimova is postdoc at the Department.

How long have you been employed at the Department of Economics and Business Economics?
I joined the Department in September 2011 as a PhD student. Following my PhD degree, I became employed as a postdoc researcher at the Department, and I am affiliated with TrygFonden’s Centre for Child Research.

What is your background? 
I obtained my PhD degree in Economics in 2014 from Aarhus University and I also hold two Master degrees in Economics; one from University of Vienna and one from the Central European University, both obtained in 2011.

What are your main areas of research? 
My research is in the fields of applied microeconometrics, education economics, labor economics and programme evaluation with a special focus on the role of how early life inputs affect later life health, employment and wealth.

What research projects are you working on at the moment? 
I study the effect of parental job loss on children. The detrimental effects of job loss potentially extend to children in the household, but little research has investigated such effects. My other ongoing projects include: research on the effect of parental mortality on children’s education outcome joint with Nabanita Datta Gupta and Wiji Arulampalam from Warwick University; and research on the age at migration and juvenile criminal behaviour joint with Fatma Usheva and Tommaso Fattini from University of Milan.

What are you involved in teaching-wise at the moment? 
I teach Economics to bachelor students in marketing and management communication.

Are you expecting any visiting researchers from abroad in the near future (or have you had any visitors from abroad recently)? 
Fatma Usheva, a PhD student from University of Milan is visiting for 6 months. We work together on crime and migration. We use Danish data to see to what extent disproportionate exposure to socio-economic problems and/or violence in the country of origin may play a role for the process of criminal capital accumulation.

What do you do when you are not at work? 
I try to devote some time to exercise, reading, and checking out some podcasts. What I enjoy the most is traveling and spending time with family and friends.

20573 / i32