Lorenzo Boldrini

Staff portrait: Lorenzo Boldrini

Lorenzo Boldrini is a PhD student at the Department and is affiliated with CREATES.

How long have you been a PhD student at the Department of Economics and Business?
I have been a PhD student for two years.

What is your background?
I received a Bachelor degree in Economics in 2009 and a Master degree in Finance in 2011 from the University of Pavia. I was then an intern for a short period of time in the asset management division in a bank in Milan.

What are your main areas of research?
My main areas of research are forecasting, dynamic factor models, state space methods and linear filtering.

What is in your experience the biggest difference between being a PhD student and being a regular student?
The biggest difference is that I now receive a salary. Another difference is that I have more responsibilities arising in particular from the teaching activities. Furthermore a difference between a regular student and a PhD student is how problems are approached. Students facing a problem as part of a course know that the problem has a solution and that they can get help from TAs and professors in case they have difficulties solving it. PhD students, and researchers in general, often do not know if the problem they have encountered has a solution, and external help may not be feasible to obtain. A big advantage of being a PhD student is getting to know very talented people from different countries and with different backgrounds.

Are you teaching any classes this semester, or what are you going to teach next semester?
I am not going to teach any classes neither this semester nor the next.

Are you planning to take part in any conferences or PhD courses in the near future?
I would like to participate in the ISF 2015 conference in California, USA.

Have you been abroad in connection with your PhD study (or where are you planning to go)?
I am planning to go to Amsterdam during the spring semester 2015 for three/four months. 

What do you do when you are not at work?
When I'm not at work I usually think about work, go to the gym, hang out with friends, attend Danish lessons, and during Summer I go to the beach.

Supplementary question from Hassan Jawaid: How was the last three days of your vacation after I left?
The last days of my vacation after you left were really nice but we missed your words of wisdom!

Please give us your suggestion for the next department staff member to be presented:
Carlos Vladimir Rodríguez-Caballero

What specific supplementary question would you like him or her to answer?
Fue penal?

19500 / i32