Dan Nguyen

Dan Nguyen is a PhD student at the Department.

How long have you been a PhD student at the Department of Economics and Business?
5 months

What is your background?
I was born in Thailand (my parents are Vietnamese) but grew up in Hjørring.
I hold a BA in Business Administration (soc.) with a subsidiary subject in psychology from Aarhus. Furthermore, I hold an Msc in Economics and Management.

What are your main areas of research?
My main area of research is in behavioral and experimental economics. Utilizing my interdisciplinary background in economics and psychology, I combine research from the fields of evolutionary psychology and microeconomics (mainly game theory) to study different aspects of human decision-making. Applying experimental methods, I investigate the extent to which the psychological imprints of ancestral social life in small hunter/gatherer groups reveal themselves in the economic decision-making of modern individuals. More specifically, I currently combine insights from animal behavior in conflict situations, which are regulated by physical size. This becomes particularly interesting if reflected on recent findings within evolutionary psychology on the human ability to accurately assess physical strength through various stimuli.

What is in your experience the biggest difference between being a PhD student and being a regular student?
To be able to really get in depth with something that interests you.

Are you teaching any classes this semester, or what are you going to teach next semester?
Currently, I am TA'ing 2nd semester microeconomics.

Are you planning to take part in any conferences or PhD courses in the near future?
In beginning of April, I will be attending EHBEA 2014 in Bristol where I will present my first paper. Furthermore, I have enrolled a summer school course in Oslo (Social Preferences: Theories and Evidence).

Have you been abroad in connection with your PhD study (or where are you planning to go)?
I haven't been abroad yet. I am planning to go in 2015 to UCSB.

What do you do when you are not at work?
Is this a trick question? :)

On a more serious note, I play tennis in Hasle (we just advanced to the 1st Division) and in my spare time I try to master Rachmaninov's 3rd piano concerto (work very much in progress!). Also, I am trying to expand my whisky collection!

Supplementary question from Betina Sørensen: When will you play the piano for us again (cf. the departmental forum in Billund)?
That depends on when and if we will have a departmental forum again, and if there will be a piano at the location. Otherwise, you might be able to catch me in different churches around Aarhus where I sometimes serve as a stand in on the organ.

Please give us your suggestion for the next department staff member to be presented (you may suggest any member of staff, not just PhD students):
Heiner Schumacher

What specific supplementary question would you like him or her to answer?
When will you do your next Iron Man?

19266 / i32