Andrea Barletta

Staff portrait: Andrea Barletta

Andrea Barletta is PhD student at the Department.

How long have you been employed at the Department of Economics and Business?
6 months

What is your background?

What are your main areas of research?
Quantitative Finance

What do you expect will be the biggest difference between being a PhD student and being a regular student?
Even though you have some duties in both cases, when you are a PhD student you basically decide how to split your work. On the other hand, when you are a regular student you have less responsibility since you are not asked to bring any results.

What was your first impression of the department and your new colleagues?
My first impression of this department was amazing: I literally could not believe what I was seeing, concerning the structure and more generally concerning study/work conditions. Moreover, people here are really open and always available for a chat, and what really impressed me the most is the fact that everyone here is placed at the same level - so maybe you could even end up talking with a Nobel prize laureate. My first impression is being confirmed again and again.

What do you do when you are not at work?
Sport and extra work are my favourite activities, but here in Denmark, and especially in Aarhus, even a simple walk can be a good investment of your free time. This is partially due to the several green areas placed throughout the city, but also partially to the Danish culture which allows you to stay in a clean and comfortable environment. Apart from that I find that Aarhus has a perfect night life since it is not so small that is lifeless, but not so big that it is chaotic.

Supplementary question from time Francesco Violante: What impressed you the most and what did you hate the most about Denmark (in the sense of culture, places, weather, people, work environment...your choice) since you got here?
No doubts concerning the second point: the weather is most likely the only thing I can't get used to here in Denmark, but this would be a common issue in every country since I come from Italy. On the contrary, it is rather hard to make a choice concerning what I like most, though I believe that "girls" would definitely be the right answer, even more than "work environment". Hoping that my girlfriend won't read it...

18954 / i32