Dear colleagues,

The ECON external funding committee aims to support funding applications at a very early stage in order to increase the success rate of applications. If you have not acquired large external grants before, we require that you engage in a dialogue. If you have acquired large external grants before, you may simply inform us about your application plans and consider the dialogue as an optional service.

Have a look at the funding opportunities at our web page for external funding: https://econ.medarbejdere.au.dk/research/external-funding/guide-for-funding-applicants

Please inform the ECON external funding committee **no later than April 20, 2022** (email: Anne La Cour <u>anncou@econ.au.dk</u>) if you plan a proposal to one key funds and granters in the late spring or in the fall:

- Independent Research Fund Denmark thematic calls
 - o Green transition, strengthened clinical and independent research or Inge Lehmann
 - o Deadline: June 2022
- Nordforsk Nordic Societal Security (collaboration across three Nordic countries)
 - Societal security beyond covid-19 or Societal security and antimicrobial resistance
 - o Deadline: June 2022
- Independent Research Fund Denmark regular call
 - Deadline: end of September 2022 (expected)
- Carlsberg Foundation
 - E.g. young researcher fellowship for newly appointed associate professors
 - Deadline October 1, 2022 (expected)

Notice that you will also have to notify the research support office **no later than April 20, 2022** (email: Helle Østergaard heoes@au.dk) if you plan a proposal to one of the calls with deadline in June mentioned above.

If you plan an application to one of the more competitive and prestigious grants (Sapere Aude (IRFD), ERC StG, ERC CoG, ERC Advanced or the Danish National Research Fund), this should be planned 6-12 months ahead of the deadline, and you should discuss this with your section head (e.g. at the SDD).

On behalf of the ECON external funding committee,

Helena Skyt Nielsen, Eric Hillebrand, Alexander Koch, Bent Jesper Christensen, Per Baltzer Overgaard and Niels Haldrup